Friends with an ex

I have been asking a question from myself for a long time now “Can you be JUST friends with your ex?”. I think it can work for some people but I bet most of people can’t and couldn’t live like that. I have been trying to wrap my head around this issue for the last 8 months when I was dumped with a text message that said: “Maybe it is better that we are just friends”. How do you answer to that? “Ok.”? I couldn’t answer anything. I still can’t believe that a person that has told me they love me, all of a sudden they expects me to be ok with us just being friends.

If you still have feelings for your ex and you are still dealing with the break-up, it is not easy at all to be friends with your ex. Feelings can’t be just switched off. Someone once said to me that if a person breaks up with you it is sign that the love has faded away. For some people breaking up is taking the easy way out. I don’t know but I have always been the kind of person who wants to deal things, sort things out. If an ex wants to leave you behind then why hold on to being friends? If you still care for your ex you could be setting yourself up to get used and hurt.

A part of me want to be friends with my ex but right now it doesn’t feel good. I really truly believed that the two of us were going to spend the rest of our lives together. Everything seemed to be in motion. Promises were made and forgiveness had happened too. Yes we had our hard times, we disagreed, misunderstood each other. But deep inside our relationship I felt and thought that our love would win.

I have been making a list out of reasons why I want my ex in my life and I have asked my ex why she wants me on her life. It think there has to be a real reason why you would set yourself in to being friends with your ex. I don’t want to be an option for my ex. I gave my all to the relationship and still I got dumped. The first thing for me is to sort my feelings out.

I’d say that when an ex wants to be friends, you need to wonder and take time to think about it before jumping in, You have to know what you feel and where you are in your life.

Leave a Reply

